Hello… You!

This week, I’ve been (you guessed it) sick! So much for getting used to my new routine; working out gets a lot more difficult when you can’t breathe properly. But all’s well that ends well, and I am, once again, well. Life’s been fairly tame the last week, though my busy-ness is steadily increasing. I’ve gone to physio twice now to get my foot looked after, and it looks like I’ll be going twice a week to that for the forseeable future. Apparently there wasn’t a serious fracture, though I suffered a sprain of the joint between my left, fifth metatarsal and proximal phalange (or, as I hope my medical jargon obfuscated, “I hewt my widdle toe.”). So in my spare time (HA! SPARE TIME!) I’ll be soaking it in hot water and rolling a tennis ball around with it. I’ve been using this non-butterfly-twisting time to contact dynamo gymnastics to find out what I could do to use their facilities for myself and the demo team, and apparently they have an adult program starting soon, so that’ll be added on to my schedule in short order.  Beyond all that, I perform a magic and juggling routine with my partner/assistant/girlfriend, and we’ve gotten a couple of bookings over the next little while. Any suggestions on time management strategies would be very welcome.

Oh yeah, I’m falling behind in PD2 (online course for students in their first co-op term).

Man, Christmas break is gonna be awesome.

So, to recap, on my horizon I have:

  • Maintaining my workout schedule
  • Physio twice a week
  • Preparing the demo team
  • Beginning at Dynamo gymnastics
  • Preparing for/Doing my own performances
  • Catching up on PD2
  • Writing my essay, “What Karate Means to Me”
  • Interviewing a living hero
  • Preparing the next Kyu belt graduation

Writing it out actually makes it seem more manageable. Maybe there will even be room for sleep over the next little while.

Anyways, let’s get on to the weekly recap:

Monday:

  • 140 Push ups
  • 140 Sit ups
  • 14 rounds of Seipai
  • 9 acts of kindness

Tuesday:

  • 140 Push ups
  • 140 Sit ups
  • 14 rounds of Seipai
  • 40 minutes of meditation
  • 5 acts of kindness

Wednesday:

  • 140 Push ups
  • 140 Sit ups
  • 14 rounds of Seipai
  • 20 minutes of meditation
  • 5 acts of kindness

Thursday:

  • 140 Push ups
  • 140 Sit ups
  • 14 rounds of Seipai
  • 20 minutes of meditation
  • 7 acts of kindness

Friday:

  • 140 Push ups
  • 140 Sit ups
  • 14 rounds of Seipai
  • 20 minutes of meditation
  • 10 acts of kindness

Saturday:

  • 30 Push ups
  • 9 acts of kindness

Sunday:

  • 200 Push ups
  • 200 Sit ups
  • 7 acts of kindness

So for Week 4 I did: 930 Push ups, 900 Sit ups, 70 repetitions of Seipai, 100 minutes of meditation 52 acts of kindness, and no sparring or jogging.

Cumulatively, I have: 3590 Push ups, 3420 Sit ups, 323 rounds of Seipai, 440 minutes of meditation, 142 acts of kindness, 45 rounds of sparring, and 20 km of jogging. It seems like the only thing I’m staying abreast of are my blog posts (ignoring that this one was a day late).

And lastly, in an act of abstract narcissism, for those of you who read to the end, here’s a video of me using nunchucks at a tournament (comments, questions and criticisms are welcome… except criticisms):

Until next week, Cheers!

